Determined to ensure Ogun State optimally harness the benefits available through the African Continental Free Trade Area Agreement AFCFTA, the State government has set up a Technical Working Group for the implementation of the Free Trade Agreement.

Ogun State Deputy Governor, Engr. Noimot Salako-Oyedele who announced the name of the Committee members while meeting with members of the National Action on the Continental Free Trade Area Agreement, in her Office in Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta said the Committee was set-up to develop a robust strategy for the Agreement as well as its successful implementation in the State.

She added that the Committee headed by the Commissioner for Finance and Chief Economic Adviser, Mr. Dapo Okubadejo would work with the National Action on the African Continental Free Trade to ensure the domestication of the AfCFTA and aid the industrial hub status of the State.

Speaking earlier, the Minister of Trade and Investment, Otunba Niyi Adebayo said the Federal Government led by President Muhammadu Buhari was willing to partner the State Government to ensure it takes advantage of the Agreement.

The Minister who was represented by the Ministry’s Director of Trade, Mr. Aliyu Abubakar called on the State to set up a State Committee on AfCFTA and also develop a State strategy and implementation plan which would enable businesses in the State appeal to a single market size of 1.2 billion people and a Gross Domestic Product of $3.4 trillion.

Other members of the State Committee on the AfCFTA include: the Commissioner for Industry, Trade and Investment, Mrs. Kikelomo Longe, Commissioner for Budget and Planning, Mr. Olaolu Olabimtan, Director General of the Nigerian Export Promotion Council (NEPC), Chairman, Manufacturers Association of Nigeria (MAN), Ogun State branch, Mr. Seleem Adegunwa and the President, Ogun State Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (OGUNCCIMA), Alhaji Wasiu Olaleye.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.